The Soul of a Pilgrim Experience

Event details

  • Monday | August 3, 2020
  • 9:00 am - 10:00 am
  • Evergreen Covenant Church

Beginning Monday, July 13th, at 9am at the church, we’ll be doing offering a Celtic Christian Spirituality experience called “The Soul of a Pilgrim.” We will be reading the book by the same title, having a Monday morning 30 minute seminar followed by a free time of personal prayer practice. In addition, there will be other spiritual practices you can do on your own during the week as well as scheduled reading from the book. This is an 8wk journey.


We will be meeting at the church on Monday mornings. If anyone would like to join the seminar by zoom, please let me know and I’ll send you a link. The weekly practices will be sent out via email.


Please make sure you have a copy of the book The Soul of a Pilgrim: Eight

Practices for the Journey Within, by Christine Valters Paintner.


Paperback $15.95 on Amazon

Kindle: $8.49 on Amazon


Here is more about the book & experience:


The renowned author of eight books and abbess of the online retreat center Abbey of the Arts, Christine Valters Paintner takes readers on a new kind of pilgrimage: an inner journey to discover the heart of God. Eight stages of the pilgrim’s way–from hearing the call to coming home–are accompanied by scripture stories of great biblical journeys and the author’s unique and creative practices of prayer, writing, and photography.


As she did in The Artist’s Rule and Eyes of the Heart, Christine Valters Paintner once again helps readers travel to the frontiers of their souls to discover the hidden presence of God. In The Soul of a Pilgrim, Paintner identifies eight stages of the pilgrim’s way and shows how to follow these steps to make an intentional, transformative journey to the reader’s inner “wild edges.” Each phase of the exploration requires a distinct practice such as packing lightly, being uncomfortable, or embracing the unknown. Paintner shows how to cultivate attentiveness to the divine through deep listening, patience, and opening oneself to the gifts that arise in the midst of discomfort.


Each of the eight chapters offers reflections on the themes, a scripture story, an invitation to the practice of lectio divina, and a creative exploration through photography and writing.